Hudson and Wells Win Gold Gloves

Wells Earnes the Award for the 2nd Consecutive Yr.

Orlando Hudson and Vernon Wells recieved the 2005 American League Gold Glove Awards yesterday. It is the first time that Hudson wins the awards, while Wells captures the Gold Glove for the second consecutive year.

Hudson led all American League second basemen with a .991 fielding percentage, committing six errors in 699 total chances. His 302 putouts and 5.84 range factor also led all AL players at his position. The 27-year-old is just the second Blue Jays second baseman to be so honored, joining Roberto Alomar who won five such awards while with Toronto (1991- 1995).

Wells earns his second consecutive Rawlings Gold Glove (2004-2005). The 26-year-old resident of Arlington, Texas fielded his position perfectly in 2005, going 363 total chances without an error. He established a new career high with 12 outfield assists leading his team and ranking second in the American League. Wells ranks alongside three other Blue Jays outfielders who have won these awards -- Jesse Barfield (1986-1987), Devon White (1991-1995) and Shawn Green(1999).

The other Blue Jays who have been honored by Rawlings are shortstop Tony Fernandez(1986-1987, 1988-1989) and third baseman Kelly Gruber (1990).

Presented since 1957, the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards recognize the best defensive players at each position in both the American and National Leagues. The winners are selected in voting by managers and coaches, who are instructed to vote only for players from other clubs within their league. Recommended Stories

Up Next


92 Fans online
    Join The Conversation